The awakening and other stories /

Presents the 1899 novel about Edna Pontellier, a Victorian-era wife and mother who is awakened to the full force of her desire for love and freedom when she becomes enamored with Robert LeBrun, a young man she meets while on vacation, and includes thirty-two short stories by Kate Chopin, drawn from...

Full description

Main Author: Chopin, Kate, 1850-1904.
Other Authors: Knights, Pamela.
Format: Book
Published: Oxford : Oxford University Press, 2008.
Physical Description: 410 pages ; 20 cm.
Edition: New ed. /
Series: Oxford world's classics (Oxford University Press)
Table of Contents:
  • The awakening
  • Wiser than God
  • A point at issue!
  • The Christ light
  • The maid of Saint Phillippe
  • Doctor Chevalier's lie
  • Beyond the bayou
  • Old aunt Peggy
  • Ripe figs
  • Miss McEnders
  • At the 'Cadian ball
  • The father of Desiree's baby (Desiree's baby)
  • Caline
  • A matter of prejudice
  • Azelie
  • A lady of bayou St. John
  • La belle Zoraide
  • Tonie (at Cheniere Caminada)
  • A gentleman of bayou Teche
  • In Sabine
  • A respectable woman
  • The dream of an hour (the story of an hour)
  • Lilacs
  • Regret
  • The kiss
  • Her letters
  • Athenaise
  • The unexpected
  • Vagabonds
  • A pair of silk stockings
  • An Egyptian cigarette
  • Elizabeth Stock's one story
  • The storm: a sequel to "The 'Cadian Ball."